## **SIRA Governance Sub-Committee Report**

Meeting Held - January 2015



**Present:** Bill Gye, Cass Gye, Boyd Attewell, Carol Floyd, Shar Jones, David Hegarty, Cass Gye and Roy Baker. By teleconference Hubert van Mierlo and Jenny Frazer

- 1. GSC members agreed that a paper based Candidate list be prepared for the upcoming AGM with both pictures and the text from the candidate's own "About Me" section. Candidates will be listed on this in alphabetical order of surnames.
- 2. GSC members agreed that in order to manage the issue of **list order bias** on the paperbased ballot forms, 6 different versions with 6 different random ordered lists of the candidates will be produced and handed to voters in equal numbers on the day. Note that in the e-voting option (see below) the order of the list is randomised for each voter
- 3. GSC members agreed that we include on the ballot paper and on the e-voting option page a brief explanatory sentence of **the need** to vote for any preferred office bearers in both the Committee section as well as the office bearer section.

While we did not discuss the exact wording at the GSC meeting an option might be:

Note: Candidates for an Office-Bearer Position can only be appointed if they are also successfully appointed as a Committee Members. That is, ensure that your preferred candidates for office-bearer positions are marked as a preferred in **BOTH** the Committee Section **and** the Office Bearer Section on the ballot paper.

- 4. GSC members agreed that Ian White be asked to be the Returning Officer
- 5. GSC members agreed that the official vote counters will be Roy Baker, Boyd Attewell and Carol Floyd. Volunteers for scrutineers will be called for on the day.
- 6. GSC members agreed that in regard to the **Voting Process** (as distinct from the Voting Method see below) we will be able to offer voters the choice of being able to vote either by traditional paper based ballot or by e-voting through Simply Voting (a Canadian System).
- 7. GSC members agreed that in regard to the **Voting Method** would be "Preferential Voting". Note that "First Past the Post" and "Point Count" methods were discussed and compared.