

## **SIRA Governance Report**

**Governance Sub-Committee Members:** Bill Gye, Cass Gye, Boyd Attewell, Carol Floyd, Shar Jones, David Hegarty, Cass Gye and Roy Baker, Hubert van Mierlo and Jenny Frazer

## **Major Governance Activities:**

- The section of the SIRA Constitution on "Election of Committee Member" was modified following all due process at a Special General Meeting held 30 November 2014. See website for details
- 2. Endorsement by Committee of preferential voting as the preferred voting method after review of the alternatives (e.g. "first past the post")
- 3. A decision to trail, if an election occurred at the February 2015 AGM, giving voters the choice of being able to vote either by traditional paper based ballot or by e-voting through Simply Voting (a Canadian System).
- 4. Decision that in future SIRA Committee elections candidates for an Office-Bearer Position can only be appointed if they are also successfully appointed as a Committee Members.

## **New Policies Adopted**

- 1. Process to Propose Amendments to Existing Policies and Procedures or Additional P&Ps
- 2. Privacy Policy
- 3. Process for the Distribution and Review of the SIRAC Minutes